New Website: Crystalin’s Reviews

I’m excited to announce the launch of my new review website, Crystalin’s Reviews. This has been a vision of mine and a work in progress for some time, so I can’t believe it’s finally come to life! As you know, I’ve been sharing my favorite products and reviews here, but I knew I wanted to expand and grow it further. Over the last couple of years I’ve become quite the online shopper. I love reading reviews, finding the best deals and products, and most of all, sharing them with all of you. It’s kind of become a hobby and let me tell you, when you do this hobby a lot, you become good at it. I’ve created Crystalin’s Review as an extension of this blog that focuses more on shopping, finding the best deals and products, and helping you make better purchases.

I really wanted the site to be unique, something we haven’t seen yet, and completely different than your traditional review site. I’ve always loved the look and feel of all the photo tumblr sites, so I’ve taken the same idea and added reviews. The infinite scroll bar allows for easy browsing and the photo-based theme creates a clean and pretty layout. Not only is the site visually appealing, it’s also easy to search. I’ve added a menu bar based on product categories and you can utilize the search bar for very specific results. Looking for a particular brand or blogger’s review, simply enter the names in the search bar.

To add variety and different perspectives to the site, I’ve asked some of my blogger friends to share their favorite products too! I like to think of it as the one place online where readers can read reviews, get recommendations, and purchase the latest products from their favorite bloggers. Fun, right?! Be sure to see the contributors here!

Sharing a vision you’ve had for years with the world is exciting but scary at the same time. I really hope you like the site and find it useful. Please, please share any feedback you have as the site is still a work in progress. I will be sharing daily deals and review updates on Crystalin’s Reviews Facebook page, so be sure to ‘like’ it here!

P.s. There’s a link in the top menu on this site (Reviews) that now directs to Crystalin’s Reviews!

23 Comments on New Website: Crystalin’s Reviews

  1. Lindsey
    November 18, 2013 at 7:27 am (1 year ago)

    Congrats, girlfriend! Such an exciting new venture and much needed shopping tool! Thank you so much for allowing me to be a part of it.

    xo, Lindsey
    http://www.caviartaste.com

    Reply
  2. christin
    November 18, 2013 at 7:53 am (1 year ago)

    AWESOME! I am SO excited about this!!!

    Reply
    • Crystalin
      November 18, 2013 at 8:09 am (1 year ago)

      Yay! I’m so glad :)

      Reply
  3. Samantha Peterson
    November 18, 2013 at 7:55 am (1 year ago)

    Congrats on the launch! Can’t wait to dive into your new website!! Always love your reviews on products!

    Reply
    • Crystalin
      November 18, 2013 at 8:08 am (1 year ago)

      Thank you, Sam! I really hope you find it helpful :)

      Reply
    • Crystalin
      November 18, 2013 at 8:08 am (1 year ago)

      Thank you so much, Nichole! Could not have done it without you :)

      Reply
  4. Jillian
    November 18, 2013 at 8:31 am (1 year ago)

    Congrats! Sending big XX to you today.

    Reply
    • Crystalin
      November 18, 2013 at 9:21 am (1 year ago)

      Thank so much for participating in the launch :)

      Reply
  5. julia
    November 18, 2013 at 11:36 am (1 year ago)

    what a great idea, crystalin! the new site looks great, the only thing i would suggest is text when you hover over an image, telling you what the product & brand is.

    xo
    julesinflats

    Reply
    • Crystalin
      November 18, 2013 at 11:42 am (1 year ago)

      I’ve been thinking about this.. thanks so much for your feedback. I’m glad you like the site :)

      Reply
  6. Catherine Day
    November 18, 2013 at 2:04 pm (1 year ago)

    Congratulations! That’s so exciting to see a dream come to life. I am seriously loving the simplicity of the design, so fresh!

    xo Catherine

    Reply
  7. Kristina
    November 18, 2013 at 3:28 pm (1 year ago)

    Great site! There’s definitely a need for something like this. Some immediate feedback:

    The picture size to text ratio seems a little off. Maybe make the pictures a bit smaller? And I don’t love having to scroll all the way down to see the review. Perhaps switch the post/tagging info with the text, so the review is to the right of the picture? That way you can see the whole picture and all of the text in one screen, rather than having to scroll up and down.

    The reviews also seem a bit text heavy. It might help to have some sort of rating system (eg. recommend highly or not) or pros/cons quick summary at the end?

    Also, I’m not sure if you and the other reviewers are willing to include this but I often find it helpful when reviewers include their own measurements and what size they bought. I generally read reviews to determine what size to order, so knowing someone’s waist size and height is usually helpful for figuring out what jean size to buy. This is especially helpful for online shopping.

    Lastly, it might be helpful to have some information on purchasing the item, like if you can get it on sale (eg. with the Gap family of brands) and if it’s worth getting for full price. Maybe include helpful info on popular brands, like which ones commonly have discounts and offer free shipping both ways?

    Hope this was somewhat helpful. Looking forward to following the new site! Congrats again!

    Reply
    • Crystalin
      November 18, 2013 at 3:37 pm (1 year ago)

      Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. I will definitely go through your comments and see what I can do to make it more reader friendly.

      Reply
    • Lauren
      November 19, 2013 at 8:48 am (1 year ago)

      I would agree about the measurements – I love this feature of Rent the Runway – and they just due height and weight I think. I’d definitely be willing to provide my measurements to help someone else out.

      Reply
      • Lauren
        November 19, 2013 at 8:49 am (1 year ago)

        due = do* :)

        Reply
    • julia
      November 21, 2013 at 10:20 am (1 year ago)

      i really like the text-heavy reviews!

      xo julesinflats

      Reply
  8. Kate
    November 18, 2013 at 5:06 pm (1 year ago)

    I can’t believe this all came to life! So happy for you and thank you for letting me be a part of this. You’re the best and I can’t wait to see this blow up!! P.S. Looking forward to adding more reviews too :)

    Reply
  9. Jenna Losé
    November 19, 2013 at 7:56 am (1 year ago)

    This is amazing!! I haven’t seen anything else like this and have no doubt I’ll be using this site for my online shopping! Great idea and congratulations on the launch! Cant wait to hear more about it next weekend!

    Reply
    • Crystalin
      November 19, 2013 at 8:36 am (1 year ago)

      Thank you, Jenna! I’m so glad you like it and and will be using it :)

      Reply
  10. nicole levine
    November 19, 2013 at 8:01 am (1 year ago)

    a big congrats to you girl! what an amazing site! xo

    Reply
    • Crystalin
      November 19, 2013 at 8:36 am (1 year ago)

      Thank you so much, Nicole!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *






Comment *